Trig Ratio Posters for Geometry and Algebra 2

This summer I’ve been busy making posters to spice up my very blandly decorated classroom. This is what my room looked like for my first year of teaching:

front of room

Front Wall

IMG_9421.JPG

Back Wall

I don’t have a lot of wall space (the other two “walls” of my classroom are just windows), but I think I could definitely better utilize the space and make it much more of a usable resource for my students.  In the back (L-R, top to bottom) I had a poster on adding polynomials, the 8 mathematical practices, naming polynomials by degree, our bell schedules, naming polynomials by number of terms, adding polynomials, factoring trinomials, and the mathematical practices of habit and mind.  Some of it was very useful for a while, but didn’t need to stay up the whole time. Definitely more of a unit-specific anchor chart, than anything. Buuuuut, my walls were really blank, so I left them up for the rest of the year.

This summer, however, I’ve been making tons of posters to put up on my wall.  Well, tons of Algebra 1 and Algebra 2 posters, that is.  Geometry somehow hadn’t gotten any love, so I decided to remedy that by making a trig ratio poster.

FullSizeRender (13)

I originally was just going to do the “big three” trig ratios since those apply for the geometry class, but I thought I’d add their reciprocals as well, seeing as they get used in Algebra 2.  I hope having them up at the beginning of the year will somehow help this information sink into their minds before we ever get to the actual trig units during second semester.

If you want to use this in your own classroom, you can download a PDF version here.

Q: What do you put up on your walls for students to use as resources throughout the year?

2 thoughts on “Trig Ratio Posters for Geometry and Algebra 2

Leave a Reply

