20 Facts About Me #MTBoSBlaugust

  1.  I’ll be a 2nd year math teacher (woo! for making it through the first year).  This year I’ll be teaching an Algebra 1+Support class, an Algebra 2+Support class, and 2 Geometry classes.
  2. I love the show Supernatural so much that this is what I got on a syllabus from a student: syllabus pic lolAnswer: Castiel
  3. I am a lover of all things neon, and I think it looks pretty regardless of what anyone else says.
  4. I’ve always been better at reading and writing than math, but math is what I love.  I got A’s in all of my classes through high school and was even the valedictorian, but math was a topic I had to work for, where the others always came naturally.
  5. Throughout my whole BS degree, I think I had just two math professors who were from the US (and they were actually doctoral Graduate Teaching Fellows, not technically professors).  I should’ve been given a degree in understanding thick eastern European accents, instead.
  6. A lot of students assume I’m vegetarian or vegan.  I get told that I look “natural,” so that’s why they assume it, LOL.  One day last year I was telling my class about my weekend and how I went out for burgers, and the class was in a panic because they thought I broke my no-meat streak (which had apparently been going on for years). I’m not sure where that came from, but it sure was funny.
  7.  I had a student who asked me to prom every single day for about a  month straight.  Even after our school’s prom had passed, since “there’s still more proms at other schools!”  His yearbook quote from me: “No.”
  8. I believe my birthday is a holiday.
  9. Ketchup is a way of life for me.  Here’s a shirt I bought to prove it to the world.
    ketchup
  10. I just got back from a short trip in Las Vegas where I made it my mission to go to every single Sephora I could find (4!), and then I stumbled upon two more when I went to Seattle for a Mariner’s game a day after I got back.  That makes 6 Sephoras in 5 days.  When I go for something, I fully commit.
  11. I have a bit of a unique educational experience.  Many people assume I was homeschooled because I am young to already be teaching, but I was not.  Rather, I graduated high school a year early with just under 90 college credits (duel credit from community colleges is AMAZING), and since I had so many credits going into my BS, I was able to finish that in only 3 years, as well.  I took about a whopping 2 week long vacation and then started up my MAT degree, which I was able to finish in 10 months.  As a result, I was able to graduate 8 days before turning 21.  On top of that, I suffer from major baby-face, so I look about 16, tops.  I like to remind myself that I’ll be looking 60 when all of my friends are 80, if this keeps up.
  12. I’m working toward getting dual credit certified in order to teach Statistics (MTH 243-244) at my high school.
  13. I get an odd kick out of balancing chemical equations and impressing students with my Spanish vocabulary knowledge.
  14. I’ve been to 14 states and 10 countries. I hope to add many more to that list, over time.
  15. I’m a pretty low key person.  I don’t swear, I don’t drink, and I don’t party. #grandmalife
  16. I got really into computer programming in college.  I found it to be incredibly interesting, and I loved that the assignments each week were actually some sort of computer application that I could use.
  17. I will be the union treasurer for my school district this year.  I don’t exactly remember how that came about, but I’m looking forward to meeting a lot of new people within the district in the upcoming year.
  18. I, much like Brianne, am addicted to watching beauty videos on Youtube (Hello, I went to 6 Sephoras in 5 days).  I don’t wear makeup much outside of the weekend, but that doesn’t stop me from watching! 😀
  19. I’m a terribly messy person. I try hard as I might to stay tidy, but I normally end up with things everywhere.  Now, that’s not to say that I’m unorganized because I at least know exactly where things are, haha.  My boyfriend, who likes to think he’s funny, once said that my decorating style for our house is “paper mache.”
  20. I’m pretty new to Twitter, but I’ve found it to be a very welcoming place in the short amount of time I’ve been on it.

 

 

5 thoughts on “20 Facts About Me #MTBoSBlaugust

  1. I hate looking young for my age. People have taken to commenting, “Hmm… Didn’t see that coming” when they check my ID. And I HATE when people try to say it’s a complement when I’m feeling thoroughly insulted. I’m sure I will enjoy it if I’m 40 and finally look 25, but to be pushing the big 3-0, and having parents tell me I look like a student is annoying.

    Like

    • I completely feel what you’re saying. I don’t know if you’ve ever felt this way, but I feel like people are constantly needing me to prove myself or my qualifications to them when we first meet since I don’t look old enough to have any qualifications.

      Like

  2. Audrey, we have so much in common! I also love make-up and tutorial videos; I disappear into the classroom when I wear a t-shirt and jeans and I love when my students guess that I’m 22-24 when I’ve been teaching here for 8 years.

    #4 and #15 TWINS

    Like

    • Love it!

      My classroom has a full-glass wall to the hallway of my school, and when we’re doing group work or stations in class, I tend to sit down and work with a group. I can’t even tell you how many times security has walked in during these times wanting to know where the teacher was since I blended right in. My students get a huge kick out of it, though.

      Ha! When they guess your age, you can turn that into a conversation about reasonableness of a solution.

      Like

Leave a Reply

