Exit Slip Extravaganza – 5 Exit Slip Templates for the Secondary Math Classroom #MTBoSBlaugust

One goal I had for myself last year was to use exit tickets more frequently, but that was just one more thing on an already long list of things to do each day, so it never really happened.  In an ideal world, I’d love to do an exit ticket every single day in each class, but I know that’s not going to happen.  More realistically, I’m going to aim for 3 per week, per class.

I want to use exit tickets as a way to get students reflecting more about math and their own ideas, as well as get a glimpse into their understanding of the material. They also offer great opportunities to challenge students to extend their knowledge about what was covered in class, as well as serve as great sources for later discussion.

At the front of the room I have 3 stoplight-colored baskets for students to turn their exit slips into (Target $1 section find from last summer).  I used this as my exit slip process last year and it worked really well.  Students self-rated their exit slips and it was a super easy way to see where the class was, as a whole, when they were all turned in.  Usually there would be a full green basket, 3 or 4 in the yellow basket, and maybe 1 in the red–from there, I knew exactly who I needed to address.  (This is an old picture–the baskets are hung up much straighter than this.)

bins

This upcoming school year, I will still be using this as my turn-in system for exit slips, but the exit slips themselves have been given much more thought.  So far, I’ve come up with 5 templates for exit tickets that will be quick to incorporate into a lesson plan, while still being meaningful.  All I have to do is find a (worthwhile) problem and project it on the board using the document camera.  I plan to have a bunch of these exit slips pre-printed and pre-cut, ready to go.  Here they are:

This first is the most generic and is meant to be used as a quick reflection and to hold students accountable for understanding that lesson’s material.  Many times when a student doesn’t understand a topic covered in class, that’s where their learning and progress stops.  I’d like to think that most high schoolers were proactive and sought out help immediately if they truly didn’t understand a topic, but that’s not been the case in my experience.  I included a list of methods to get help, if needed, to remind them of what is available to them. (Quarter-sheet size.)exit slip pic3

The next is meant to be used as a skill-check for a problem that would be projected on the board.  Can they do it, or not?  If students can’t, they still have a way of moving forward that forces them to think back about prior learning and encourages them to revisit old notes looking for information to put down. (Half-sheet size.)exit slip pic5

The third exit slip is much more generic.  Some days it’ll be free-choice about which prompt students respond to, and other days I’ll pick which prompt I want them to respond to.  I included a picture of a phone on this because I wanted students to view this as an opportunity to have a private conversation with me about where they’re at with their learning. (Quarter-sheet size.)exit slip pic1

The last two are about error analysis and critical thinking. (Half-sheet size.) The first of the two focuses more on critical thinking.  I will project a problem on the board that contains an error. Students will copy down the solution process on their papers in Step 1, and then point out where an error occurred (they are not to fix it).  In Step 2, I included the types of errors from Sarah’s post and students have to justify why they think it’s the type of error that they chose.  From there, in Step 3 they must reflect upon what information is understood by this person and what is not to compile a list of three questions that could lead to future success when solving a problem like this.

exit slip pic2

The second of the error-analysis slips focuses more on the math side of things. Students will identify what went wrong in a solution process that I project onto the board, and then correctly solve the problem, themselves.  From there, they will write out a helpful strategy or reminder that should be used for problems like this, and will then create their own practice problem that would allow the student who made the mistake to implement the suggested strategy and show that they learned from their mistakes.

exit slip pic4

Q: How do you use exit slips in your class? Do you have any templates that you use?

If you’d like to use these in your own classroom, you can download them from my TpT store.

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “Exit Slip Extravaganza – 5 Exit Slip Templates for the Secondary Math Classroom #MTBoSBlaugust

  1. I love these! I too struggle with exit tickets. I know they are great but always run out of time. These slips would be a big help. I would love a copy.

    Like

    • Sent! I feel exactly the same way. I can say for certain, but I am hoping that having these pre-made will make it easier to incorporate on a much more regular basis. Thank you so much for stopping by and commenting.

      Like

  2. I love this idea. My issue with exit slips is that when I plan for them, I run out of time and don’t get to use them. When I do have time, it turns out that I didn’t have one planned. It is so frustrating. I love the idea of having pre-printed templates. I’m totally stealing this idea.

    Like

    • The exit slip struggle is real with us both, lol. I hate when I have made a bunch of lesson-specific exit slips (with problems printed on them) and then ran out of time to use them. I’ve ended up with a lot of wasted paper this way. I’m hoping that this can help in that regard as well.

      Also! I just added all of the files if you want to use them so you don’t have to start from scratch. 🙂

      Like

    • You are more than welcome! Thanks for the love! It really feels great having people leave comments on my posts, despite just starting out.

      I’ve just updated the post to include all of the files (doc and PDF) if you want to use any of them.

      Like

  3. These are great! The templates are an awesome idea because I run into the same problem Brianne had. I used to teach in a school that had a five minute warning bell for each class (for the gym classes), and it was what I used to remind myself to start the exit slip and it worked great. But that was also when I was only teaching 60 kids and 80 minute blocks…now I have double that and only 50 minute periods, so the biggest problem I run into now is taking the time to respond to all of them. Do you respond to all of them or do you just look at them to see how tomorrow should go? Or something else?

    Like

    • I rarely respond to them on an individual basis, because ain’t nobody got time for dat #190students.

      I typically look at the red/yellow/green distribution at first glance, and then compare how students did to how they thought they did. For example, did the students who put their exit slips in “green” actually get it correct, or do they just think they’re doing it/thinking about it correctly? I find the most interesting information comes from the yellow basket, since students here are usually correct in their work or explanations, but lack the confidence in what they’ve done.

      When I go through the exit slips, I am mostly looking for patters, which I then address in the beginning of the following class. I also use the patterns as a gauge for what to include in the next class’ warmup. (I always begin with a recap warmup of the prior lesson(s)). I don’t like to make my warmups ahead of time, because I like them to be tailored to exactly what my students need, so the exit slips are extremely useful for this.

      When I’m looking over the exit slips, I’ll take ~5 per exit slip topic. So, if I did an Algebra 1, a Geometry, and an Algebra 2 exit slip that day, it’ll take a little under 15 minutes of my day to figure out where all of my classes are at. The next class, right after our warmup, I will then discuss the exit slip (as a whole) with the class. I talk about common mistakes that were made and ask the students to think about WHY those common mistakes were made. I also use this as a chance to talk about common “stuck points” that students had, that prevented them from having the confidence to either finish, or put their exit slip in the green basket.

      Hope this helps!

      Like

Leave a Reply

